Getting ahead!

The spectacular cresent and the star


Beautiful scenery was witnessed by Filipinos when a natural view appeared in the sky on Sunday evening, May 16, 2010. I was very amazed when I saw the crescent moon lying and looks like it is catching a fallen star. That was amazing and I can’t explain the feeling of witnessing a spectacular view from the sky. One of my housemate took his camera and gets some shots of the luminous view in the sky. I took my laptop on and search for the symbol associated with the crescent and the star because I have a familiar recognition of the symbol and looks like I found it somewhere and the web leads me to the symbol of Islam. But what is the true meaning of the symbol of Islam and how it originated?

Well, according to Wikipedia which is my reference the star and the crescent is associated with the Moabites and it used as its name and their seals. It is also a common feature of Sumerian iconography and the crescent is directly associated with the moon god Sin and the star with Ishtar. Well, the basic fact I know about the crescent and the star. Better click this link to see the real origin of the symbolism.

2 responses

  1. amorfosgate

    Absolutely remarkable!…the moon and the star dramatically stand out in the sky!..one in a lyftime moment!…

    May 18, 2010 at 5:09 am

  2. candy

    the pictures look great. your housemate is probably a professional photographer. i found those pictures very charming. nice one.

    May 18, 2010 at 8:35 am

Leave a Reply

